This “How to Go Gluten-Free” resource guide will make your life 100x easier. I swear!
When I discovered I was celiac, it was a looooong journey to figure all this sh*t out. So, I did all the work for you and compiled this awesome guide on transitioning to gluten-free.
To start, here’s how you can set up a gluten-free kitchen:
- Make sure you have your own jams, butter, spreads. You don’t want others to double dip with glutinous knives into your container and get crumbs in there.
- Buy a new toaster. Then you can ensure it’s always gluten free
- Designate certain cooking pots and pans to be 100% gluten-free. That way, no one else cooks their pasta in there.
- If you live with roommates, label your stuff. I used to hide my things in my room because I was that OCD about it. THIS IS MY PEANUT BUTTER EVERYONE!
What grains are not gluten free?
- Read it all here.
- Kamut flour.
- Wheat protein.
- Couscous. (It can be easy to confuse it with quinoa!)
- Orzo. (It looks like rice and I’ve made that mistake before).
- Spelt flour (Some get this wrong and think it’s gluten free – it’s not!)
Also, be careful since gluten can be tucked away in other ingredients:
- When it only lists “spices” or “seasonings” or “natural flavors” in the ingredients list, there could be wheat in there.
- Maltodextrin. Sometimes derived from wheat.
- MSG (monosodium glutamate) which might have wheat.
What foods are NOT gluten free:
- Lindt chocolate. It has barley malt extract.
- Soy sauce. Made from wheat, not soy!
- Miso soup. (Sometimes has soy sauce).
- Hoisin sauce.
- Worcestershire sauce. Some brands are gluten free, but most are not. If you can’t read the bottle yourself, pass on it.
- Cocktail dipping sauce. (The type people eat with shrimp.) Sometimes it has Worcestershire sauce.
- Artificial crab meat. It has wheat flour in it.
- Beer. Various beers are gluten-free now, so look for those instead.
- The green sushi wasabi at Japanese restaurants. Ask what it is mixed with. Sometimes they use wheat flour, other times it is mixed with water.
- Dates. Sometimes dates are rolled in wheat flour to prevent them from sticking together. I like to buy dates in a package where I can read all the ingredients and know what’s up!
Also, when you are at restaurants and the menu says an item is gluten-free, double check for these contamination types:
- Anything deep fried may bother you because of the cross contamination in the fryer if wheat flour was also fried in there.
- Gluten-free pastries that are made in a non-gluten-free kitchen. It is very easy to get cross contamination with flour.
- Prepared sauces or soups at restaurants. Flour is commonly used as a thickener, so double check when they offer you a side salad.
Other rad things you may like:
Peace, love, and all things gluten-free and delish!
-Kelly from The Wild Manifesto
Watercolor by Freepik.